jump to navigation

Movie Review: Red Riding Hood (2011) April 1, 2011

Posted by pacejmiller in Movie Reviews, Reviews.
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

No, this is no April Fools Day joke.  Of course I was warned, but I had a free ticket and I had to use it before expiry, so I went and watched one of the only films currently screening that I hadn’t yet seen — Red Riding Hood.

Directed by Twilight‘s Catherine Hardwicke, Red Riding Hood is a very very loose adaptation of the fairytale everyone knows about.  And in the tradition of that vampire film, Red Riding Hood is full of wistful glances, sexual tension and horrible dialogue between attractive young people — in this case Amanda Seyfried, Shiloh Fernandez (who reminds me of Chuck Bass) and Max Irons.  Other common factors include werewolves and Billy Burke as the protagonist’s dad.

Anyway, I wouldn’t necessarily say it was complete trash, but Red Riding Hood just wasn’t very good.  It’s always interesting to see a ‘revisioning’ of an old tale, especially such a pretty one visually (nice little town and mixture of colours), but this one was uninspiring and lacked intelligence and creativity. 

In essence, this was a teen fantasy horror flick that was not very scary.  A werewolf is terrorising a small town and everyone is a suspect.  The mystery is what keeps the film afloat, but because all the characters (apart from Gary Oldman’s werewolf-slaying priest) are so bland and the love triangle so uninteresting, I found myself switching off.

Ultimately, Red Riding Hood was all style and little substance.  It looked pretty, with pretty people, pretty sets and pretty shots, resulting in a visually impressive film, but there wasn’t much else going for it.  I have a feeling they might have made a mistake by trying to make this a Twilight clone rather than utilise the fairytale premise for something more clever, something with more imagination, and something that didn’t take itself so seriously.

2 stars out of 5

Comments»

1. Red Riding Hood (2011) Preview and trailer « iHartMovies™ - April 11, 2011

[…] Movie Review: Red Riding Hood (2011) (pacejmiller.wordpress.com) […]

2. We have Beards so we know Movies: Red Riding Hood (2011) « Lunki and Sika – Movie, TV, Celebrity and Entertainment News. And Other Silliness. - June 1, 2011

[…] Movie Review: Red Riding Hood (2011) (pacejmiller.wordpress.com) […]

3. Travis - July 14, 2011

After I received Red Riding Hood in the mail from Blockbuster last night I ended up watching it right away. It ended up being a better than I was expecting, not great, but certainly worth watching once. Especially considering that I have such a great, cost-effective way of renting movies with Blockbuster online. Not only does Blockbuster have an exhaustive selection of movies and games, they have in-store exchange options and many of the new releases before Redbox or Netflix. I’m also happy to say that as an employee of DISH Network I get to offer new customers 3 months of Blockbuster absolutely free. It’s a great value added to an already incredible deal. You can check out the details here if you’d like to: http://bit.ly/lCaUkg I definitely recommend it, it’s certainly worth a few minutes of your time.


Leave a comment