jump to navigation

Editing Your Own Work Is Hard Work! May 25, 2011

Posted by pacejmiller in Misc, Novel, On Writing, Study.
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

I’m up to the stage where I have just completed what is essentially a first draft of my masters project novel.  It’s not the whole novel but at 25,000 words it’s already substantially longer than what it needs to be for the purposes of the course (which I think is 15,000).

I am meeting my supervisor again shortly, and as usual, I am sure there will be more amazing suggestions and insights forthcoming.  The task now is to try and shape this first draft into something awesome.

Easier said than done.

I don’t mind editing my own work, not when it’s just copyediting — ie, fix the typos, the spelling, the grammar, etc — but when it comes to major overhauls and structural changes, I just want to bury my head in the sand and hope it miraculously fixes itself.

To me, editing your own work is the hardest part of writing.  Unfortunately it’s something that has to be done.  There are no magic bullets.  Just need to keep trying different things, testing various styles and combinations, and persevering until I get it right.  Well, either that or until the deadline, which is only a couple of weeks away.

Eek.  After that maybe I can get a real editor.

Comments»

1. uioae - May 26, 2011

Then you get precious about your words, even though you may only have a love-hate relationship with them… and you don’t want to swing that axe. I trust you can do it though. All the faith in the world in your abilities.

2. Nate - June 4, 2011

Mate, catching up on your stuff here…

I don’t mind editing at all. I get a bit tense when I have to re-read the story several times until it is completely fixed, that can get taxing, but, maybe I’m just too zealous of my work, but I believe on I can know what’s right or wrong. Yes, I’m open to suggestions when I can feel they are warrant, but when it comes down to it, the story as you read (out loud, very important) will tell you what’s not quite working and what needs something extra; you just got to listen.
I’m excited for you though.


Leave a Reply

