jump to navigation

Ranking All 2011 Best Picture Nominees February 28, 2011

Posted by pacejmiller in Entertainment, Misc, Movie Reviews, Reviews.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

Source: screenrant.com

Now that I’ve finally watched all 10 nominees for Best Picture for the 2011 Academy Awards, here is how I would rank them from 1 to 10.  Click on the movie title for full review.

10. Winter’s Bone

This was a film for indie film lovers and critics.  I thought it was a brilliant performance by Jennifer Lawrence (deserved nomination for Best Actress), a fantastic depiction of the life of ‘cookers’ and their families in rural USA, and had me on the edge of my seat with some frighteningly tense moments — but unfortunately it was my least enjoyed film out of the top 10.

9. The Kids Are All Right

A surprise hit in my books because I didn’t expect to enjoy this so much.  Loved Mark Ruffalo in this and thought it was very quirky, funny and strangely moving.  Not usually my type of film but this was a standout.

8. True Grit

The muttering aside, this was a terrific Western, powered by a star-making performance by Hailee Steinfeld (another deserved nomination, though should have been for Best Actress).  Can’t say it’s one of my favourite Coen Brothers’ movies (I have so many) but it’s another example of their unique style and versatility.

7. Black Swan

As expected, Natalie Portman took out the Best Actress gong, and just as well — she was awesome in this, the best I’ve ever seen her.  I went in having no idea that this was going to be such a trippy, horrific film that made me turn away so many times (especially when it comes to skin and nails).  Nothing like The Wrestler (companion piece) but almost just as good.

6. The King’s Speech

I know, I know.  This just won Best Picture, but it’s not even in my top 5.  Don’t get me wrong, I thought this was a phenomenal film, but it’s not my kind of film, or at least not as much as the other films on this list.  Colin Firth was definitely a deserving winner for Best Actor, and Geoffrey Rush a deserving nominee.  Helena Bonham Carter?  Not so much.  Surely there were other supporting actresses more worthy?

5. Toy Story 3

Can’t believe I ranked a cartoon higher than 5 other films on this list, but Toy Story 3 moved me in a way I didn’t expect.  The franchise has always been superb, but the third film might very well be the best of them all.

4. The Fighter

Being an avid boxing fan might have coloured my opinion a little, but The Fighter is one of the best boxing films ever.  It’s gritty, gut-wrenching and utterly compelling and anchored by 4 amazing performances (2 nominations, 2 wins).  There’s nothing quite like a triumphant true story.

3. 127 Hours

Another film I didn’t expect to enjoy so much.  Kudos to Danny Boyle and James Franco for bringing this incredible true story to life.  Even with that inevitability looming over every second, I never found the film boring or tedious.  This was an exciting, riveting, horrific, and ultimately inspirational film.

2. The Social Network

I was so disappointed that this didn’t win Best Picture, even though I knew the odds were slim because The King’s Speech really garnered momentum leading up to the Oscars.  As far as dramas and films with a genuine chance of winning Best Picture (hence ruling out my no. 1), The Social Network was the best of the lot.  In 10, or maybe even 5 years, The King’s Speech will still be regarded as an exceptional film, but The Social Network will be remembered as a classic and a defining film for this generation.  Just my opinion.

1. Inception

I knew this had no chance in hell of winning, so I was just pleased it got nominated.  But come on — Nolan not even getting nominated for Best Director and getting snubbed for Best Screenplay.  At least the technical awards it won were a bit of a consolation.  Whatever.  Inception was still the most enjoyable movie experience I had last year.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

