jump to navigation

Help: My Blog Needs a Makeover January 23, 2011

Posted by pacejmiller in Blogging, Websites.
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
trackback

I think it’s time for this blog to have a makeover.  It recently celebrated its second birthday using the same theme it had one DAY ONE — Regulus, which I chose at the time primarily because of the colour scheme and the header.

Right now, at the very minimum, I am thinking of changing themes and give the front page, and in particular the messy categories (on the right column), a complete makeover.  When I started this blog I had no idea what I was doing so I came up with too many categories and sometimes threw a single post into two or three different categories.  Now I have 25+, with only a few sub-categories, making the category function almost worthless.

So apart from reducing the number of categories (which would take a really long time I think), I would like to have them on a drop down menu on the header, which unfortunately, I don’t think Regulus allows.

I’ve had a look around and I don’t really know what new style I should go for.  Should I continue the colourful ‘amateurish’ look or go for something cleaner, sharper, a little more professional looking?  It’s actually quite annoying that most of the WordPress themes have fixed widths, which always give them a narrow look that wastes all the space on the side.

Or should, with the traffic I get daily, I bite the bullet and finally get my own domain (ie pay for it) and start hosting advertisements?  Would that cheapen the blog?  At least it would give me a lot more freedom with the look and feel of it, except I’d probably need someone to help me since I have no idea how to do it all.

Anyway, WordPress themes that have stood out include the following (in alphabetical order).  Please vote below — you can choose more than one response.  Thanks in advance.

Bueno

Enterprise

Fusion

INove

Journalist v1.9

Mistylook

Neat!

Ocean Mist

Pilcrow

Sapphire

Structure

Tarski

Twenty Ten

Unsleepable

Comments»

1. uioae - January 24, 2011

I voted for three things – I hope that’s OK.

Bueno, Journalist and Unsleepable all fit with the theme of your blog.

2. inspiredworls - January 24, 2011

i can help you install wordpress and choose a theme.

my standard rate applies =)


Leave a Reply

