jump to navigation

DVD Review: Blood Night: The Legend of Mary Hatchet (2008) December 2, 2010

Posted by pacejmiller in Movie Reviews.
Tags: , , , , , , ,
trackback

I first came across Blood Night: The Legend of Mary Hatchet when I was surfing online with the computer volume on full blast and a banner ad started screaming so loud that I had to shut down the page.  But at least it got my attention.  The next time I saw the ad I watched the whole thing and it seemed intriguing enough.  Naked ghost woman who hacks people to death sounded like an idea as good as any slasher movie out there, so why not?

As it turned out, I probably should have listened to the warnings.  Blood Night makes other straight-to-DVD movies seem like big screen feature blockbusters.  There’s nothing horrifically wrong with the film, but there’s also nothing to make it worth watching.

I thought I would learn something about the real Mary Hatchet story (if there is one), but as I understand it, the film is a mash up of a number of Long Island legends.  It has a cookie cutter plot and progression, complete with awful dialogue and acting (the only name I recognised was Nate Dushku, the brother of Eliza).  Worst of all, it wasn’t even scary.  Not even the ‘boo’ scares were effective.  The excessive blood and gore actually had the opposite effect, making the film campy and less frightening.

To me, Blood Night is the type of movie that may possibly be enjoyed by a group of drunk teenagers at a party — because you don’t really need to focus, the supposed scares induce laughter, and there is lots of nudity involved.  For everyone else, don’t waste your time.

1 star out of 5

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

