jump to navigation

Transcribing is a Ball-Buster September 29, 2010

Posted by pacejmiller in On Writing, Study.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

Source: open2.net

It’s taken me an entire week to transcribe all the interviews I’ve done in the last over the last month or so (mostly in the last couple of weeks).

There was a mixture of 4 or 5 face-to-face interviews that ranged from 30 minutes to 4 hours, plus a couple of phone interviews that didn’t go for more than 10 minutes.  I thought it would have taken 2 or 3 days at the most, especially since I recorded everything on my Pulse Smartpen, which allows you to reduce the playback speed without compromising the quality of the sound.

But no, it was so much harder than I had anticipated.  Part of it was because I felt like taking a break every 5 minutes, but honestly, transcribing is such a ball-buster.  Not only do you have to type fast and without errors, you also have to keep playing the same sentences over and over again until you can get every word perfectly.  This is important, my teachers tell me, because you never know when you might need a transcript to back up something you’ve written in an article.  It’s good to start practicing early.

And when you listen back on conversations, you realise that people hardly speak in complete sentences.  I don’t know if it’s my subjects in particular (who are all very articulate people), but even putting aside the ers and ums and mumbled words, it was often extremely difficult to piece together sentences because seem to jump all over the place and start and stop without warning.  It makes quote-gathering a rather unenviable task.

Anyway, that’s finally all out of the way.  Now I just have the write the damn articles.

Comments»

1. uioae - September 29, 2010

I was in the cab yesterday when the cabbie said to me, “Are you a lawyer?”

“How did you guess that?” was my startled response. I had barely been in the cab for a minute. We had just turned our first corner heading towards the volleyball court.

“You have a way about you, lawyers.”

“What way is that?” I had no idea I can be put so squarely into a generic category. I was scared, frightened that my unique characteristics have blended into those around me into a clump of bulletpoints that strangers can identify in seconds of meeting.

“Just a way.”

That was an example of my recollection of a conversation… and maybe it’s because I’m prone to filling in gaps, but don’t all conversations flow in a similar sort of way where each person completes the other person’s sentences?


Leave a Reply

