jump to navigation

Update: Writing, Writing and More Writing July 19, 2010

Posted by pacejmiller in Blogging, Novel, On Writing.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

Image: knowabouthealth.com

It’s been brutal.

My parents and sister have left the country again and I have just returned from a short trip to the Hunter Valley in New South Wales.

Now, with a couple more weeks to go before the next semester in my writing course begins, I am determined to make the most of my time and write, write and write a bit more (with a bit of reading tossed in there).  I want to experience full-time writing and see how I like it.

Day one — so far, so good.  There are only two problems.  First, I lack the stamina and concentration to last all day.  After a couple of hours I may need to watch an episode of Seinfeld/Scrubs, or have a snack, or surf the net for 20 minutes.

Secondly, there is always more stuff to write.  It never ends!  I finally finished my Indian Journey series of posts (about my recent trip to India), but I still haven’t put up the posts on my culinary adventure in Hong Kong (which followed the trip), my even more recent trip to the Hunter Valley (which will be a series of posts for non-drinkers visiting the wine region), plus reviews of the books and films I’ve seen.  And did I mention a couple of weeks ago I visited the house of a published author who shared some of his insights with me?  I need to put all of that stuff up.

Which brought me to the realisation that I’m never going to get to work on my novels (yes, I have two now), enter into any writing competitions or accumulate writing credits if I keep working on my blog posts.  There’s just always more!

So as much as I love writing them, tomorrow is going to be the last day that I’m going to try and catch up on my back log of posts.  After that, one post a day (two tops), and I will dedicate the remainder of the day to real writing.

Let’s see how that experiment works out for me…

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

