jump to navigation

DVD Blitz! March 13, 2010

Posted by pacejmiller in Movie Reviews.
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

I had initially planned on doing separate reviews for all of these DVDs I watched over the last couple of weeks, but I decided it was wasting too much of my life.  I need to focus on my studies and my novels more, and less on blogging.

Maybe I’ll eventually get around to reviewing them in full on 7Tavern.  But for now, here are some brief reviews.

The Taking of Pelham 123

I expected a bit of a stinker and my expectations were fulfilled. John Travolta was a shocker in this one (simply swearing a lot doesn’t make a villain cool or menacing or interesting), and Denzel feels the same as always. There were a couple of decent moments and flashes of excitement that prevented the film from being a total disaster, but on the whole this was one to forget.

2 out of 5

Never Back Down

Teenage mixed martial arts movie with all the expected crap that comes with it – average acting, bad dialogue and predictable flow. Good fight scenes though. Cam Gigandet’s evil smile reminded me of a chiseled Hayden Christensen.

2 out of 5

Redbelt

I was getting my MMA fix.  Hard hitting, both physically and emotionally, in true Mamet-style. For once a martial arts film that deals with more than just punching and kicking. Keeps you wondering where it would take you next. Awesome.

4 out of 5

Whatever Works

Look, it’s not a bad film. It’s just that Larry David is annoying enough for half an hour on Curb, so Larry David for 92 minutes straight gets a bit…

And it’s hard to ignore the fact that the movie is written and directed by Woody Allen, and surprise surprise, it’s about the relationship between a misunderstood old man and a girl that is far too young to be married to him. Thankfully, it’s not his daughter. 

2.5 out of 5

The Hangover

Maybe I expected too much. The Hangover is pretty good but not as gut-bustingly hilarious as I thought it would be. That said, it could have been way worse. Ken Jeong is an absolute classic.

3 out of 5

Lost Boys: The Tribe

Long awaited sequel to the 87 classic went pretty much according to script. B-grade all the way, but that doesn’t mean it was destined to be crap. I liked the tongue-in-cheek moments but there was too much serious stuff mixed in there which made it uneven. It could have been worse, I suppose.  RIP Corey Haim.

2 out 5

Michael Clayton

Oozes class all the way through. A tremendous opening sequence, an intriguing plot, and handled with style and precision. A well-made, gripping thriller.

4 out of 5

Fool’s Gold

Should have been simply titled “Fools”. Horrible plot (where is the adventure? People sit around, talk, and figure out where the treasure is?), annoying characters, and action without excitement. And it’s 110 minutes! And the ultimate killer blow? Matthew McConaughey.

1.5 out of 5

Did I mention I’ve been kinda busy lately?

Late addition – can’t believe I saw this film but totally forgot about it!

Vantage Point

Pretty clever idea and a great cast, but unfortunately they didn’t nail it. Despite the gimmick, in the end it turned out to be a rather pedestrian thriller plot. That said, there were some exciting scenes and at 90 minutes, the film didn’t outstay its welcome.

3 out of 5

Comments»

1. Nate - March 15, 2010

You saw Fools Gold??!! I was flipping channels one and I think I saw about 3 minutes of it and my brain quickly sprung into action and made my hand change the channel before it was too late. lol.

I think that you should do the following: for every bad movie you waste time on, you should force yourself to write…say, 5000 words of your novel?

pacejmiller - March 16, 2010

I know, I am such a loser for watching that movie. Matthew McConaughey is just so unbearable. He almost ruined “Contact” for me and I haven’t gotten off his back since then.

If I was forcing myself to write that much for every bad movie I watch, I would have written about 100,000 words over the last couple of months, lol!

2. Nate - March 17, 2010

You aren’t a loser, that’s crazy talk. You’re just very passionate about movies and can’t resist watching something even if you know it’s a trainwreck. I’ve done plenty of times.


Leave a Reply

