jump to navigation

Tiger’s Apology: Sincere or Phony? February 20, 2010

Posted by pacejmiller in Entertainment.
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

So Tiger Woods finally comes out and makes a public statement about his, er, infidelities.  How he has let people down.  How he has let his wife and family down.  Pretty much what everyone has known for the last few months.

I haven’t read the general public reaction to Wood’s apology, but I can imagine it would be mixed.  Personally, I thought he could have at least memorised it rather than read off a piece of paper.  Apologies always feel more sincere when not read.

I also didn’t like the mention of sponsors and reminding everyone what a humanitarian he is.  I’d rather someone else remind us – it feels less contrived that way.  But what would I know – I am sure Woods’ team spent days working on this script to make it perfect.

The funniest part of the whole speech is when Tiger showed anger at allegations that his wife Elin had attacked him on the night that the cat was let out of the bag.  Tiger was adamant that Elin never touched him.  Like most others, I found that very disappointing.  Let’s face it.  We all secretly hoped that the rumours were true and she clubbed him with his three wood.

I’d give the apology a B-.  If I hadn’t heard Woods speak before and didn’t know he was so..’wooden’ in his delivery then I might have given it a C.

So what do you think?  Was this a genuine, sincere attempt by Woods to make amends, or just another well calculated, phony PR stunt cooked up by Woods’ management team?

I think the best for Woods to make everyone forget about his indiscretions is to go back to winning on the golf course.  Sports lovers, and Americans in particular, are great at forgiving supreme athletes, as long as they perform.

Comments»

1. Mark Campbell - February 22, 2010

I wonder whether folk should stop watching the Winter Olympics, and just zip to the vidshop and hire Blades of Glory!

And on a similar note, I do think the Tiger Woods story would make for a great Hollywood comedy! (I would prefer that angle, over some turgid moralising dramatic take on his remarkably plentiful infidelities).

pacejmiller - February 22, 2010

Hah! Yes, it would definitely be more entertaining.

Re Tiger Woods – excellent idea! Maybe that should be my first writing project.

2. Ashford Daniel - July 3, 2011

I am not so sure Tiger is the person who really values people’s support as important to his existence. Somewhere in his pursuit of his game he has come to realize that he can be his own island, so to speak.

Hence, the apology most likely was something with an external stimilus to Tiger; left up to him the press would never see or hear a penitent expression from Tiger.


Leave a Reply

