jump to navigation

JD Salinger, author of ‘The Catcher in the Rye’, passes away January 29, 2010

Posted by pacejmiller in On Writing.
Tags: , , , , , , ,
trackback

Sad day for the literary world.

Reports today confirmed the death of JD Salinger, the author of The Catcher in the Rye.  Salinger was 91 years old.

Salinger’s life after The Catcher in the Rye wasn’t what you would have expected.  The overwhelming success of the controversial book was probably the last thing Salinger wanted.  It brought him too much unwanted attention, turning him into a recluse that never published anything after 1965.  He said he still wrote, but he never had the desire to publish his works.

I have only read The Catcher in the Rye once, when I was in a lost youngster in high school.  I don’t think I ever gave the book the attention and respect it deserved.  I can’t remember much about it except that I didn’t really get the message and I only read it because I had to.  All I could think of was finishing the thing so I could go play video games or something.

I’m sure if I read it again today it would be a completely different experience.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

