jump to navigation

Happy Birthday to About Writing!!! January 12, 2010

Posted by pacejmiller in Blogging.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

Happy Birthday!

I don’t believe it.  My humble little blog has turned one.

I had no idea time could pass so quickly when doing what you enjoy.

About Writing began on the advice of a friend who encouraged me to express my thoughts and exercise my creative muscles.  At the time, I was on the other side of the planet, all the way in Cambridge, in the middle of winter.  Now I’m all the way back home, in the sweltering heat of summer, still writing away.

275 posts, 646 comments and almost 185,000 hits later, here I am, still writing away.

About Writing has undergone a lot of changes, but I’ve managed to stay true to my interests.  Initially, I really only wanted to record the progress of my novel, but it has managed to become a resource for fantasy writers (which really began as a pooling exercise to help my own fantasy novel), a place for interested travellers to read about Europe and its many wonderful cities (which really began as a travel diary to chronicle my experiences), a place to debate whether Prague is really overrated (the jury is still out), a movie review blog, a book review blog…video games, stage shows, delightful cuisine, news stories and even a stab at parody writing.

But at the end of the day, it’s still just an aspiring writer’s blog.

Writing is truly a magical thing, and this blog has helped me embrace it.  About Writing has changed my life, literally (and not only because of the endless hours I seem to be pouring into it).  I’m a happier, more creative person because of it, and for that I am thankful.

Many moons ago, I wrote a post about cringing at my old writings on this blog.  Having had a skim through my old crap, it really does stink.  I still hold the hope that, someday, through writing on this blog, my writing skills may improve just that little bit.

Here’s to an even more amazing year two for About Writing!

Cheers!

PS: my wife saw two homeless guys duking it out in the street today.

Comments»

1. Uninvoked - January 12, 2010

Wow, that’s a lot of hits. O.O

2. inspiredworlds - January 12, 2010

i never rated prague, so its not over rated in my book!

I had an ok time there, the city centre looks very nice and historic, the clock was pretty cool as was the story. i also had the biggest pork knuckle there ever, before embarking on a bike tour (not a good idea). but outside the city centre, the place looked really run down.

185,000 seems like a lot of hits!! keep going my friend!

pacejmiller - January 13, 2010

Haha – I’ve had a few angry comments about that post.

Re the blog – all thanks to you dude…as you said, content is king!

3. Nate - January 13, 2010

Well Happy Frakking Birthday! Too bad you’re only one, so I can’t buy you a drink.

Is your taiwan and surrounding areas travelings over? I had to stop coming over to your blog because you were making me hungry with all the delicious food pictures and I was getting jealous.

pacejmiller - January 13, 2010

Hey man, thanks for the birthday wishes. I believe your blog is coming to the magic number as well?

I am back from Taiwan and back at work, sadly…but honestly I’ve only done like a third of all the food posts…so plenty more coming when I get the chance, and the best stuff is yet to come!

4. j-a brock - January 13, 2010

congrats on your blog b’day! good to hear it’s helped you creatively too.


Leave a Reply

