jump to navigation

Epic Fail: My NaNoWriMo Challenge December 4, 2009

Posted by pacejmiller in Blogging, Novel, On Writing.
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
trackback

About a month ago I tried to attempt what many may have done before me – attempt NaNoWriMo without actually entering into NaNoWriMo.  That is, write 50,000 words on my work-in-progress fantasy novel in the month of November.

The verdict: epic fail.

Try 10,000 words (which, to be fair, is not that bad under the circumstances).  I tried, I really did.  But I just couldn’t find the time.  For most of the month, I was working 13-15 hour days, 5 days a week.  Travel time to and from work took up 1.5-2 hours per day.  Factor in 7-8 hours of sleep a night, keeping up with blog posts and needing almost the entire weekend to unwind and recover, that didn’t leave much time for writing.

Where does that leave me?  Two positives came out of this experience.  One, I progressed another 10,000 words on that first draft.  Two, and more importantly, I know for certain that if I ever want to finish this book, I need to find another job.  At this rate, it would probably take another 10 years, so it doesn’t really leave me much choice.

The good thing is that after yet another brutal week, I don’t feel like all hope is lost.  Even though I should be catching up on some much needed sleep, I ended up getting up earlier than usual because all I wanted to do was write.  That’s a good sign, isn’t it?

Comments»

1. Nate - December 7, 2009

I would really like to know exactly when did *epic fail* inserted itself into the lexicon.

10k isn’t bad, that’s actually very good–with your crazy schedule and all–so you should be proud of it. I barely wrote two thousand words last month but I have an excuse (besides being busy): I had a major brainstorm idea and I had to do some research and change things around the plot of the story to make sure the new additions were in properly in place and my timeline is perfect. With that out of the way, I still don’t see myself writing much this month…damn you holidays!

2. J-A Brock - December 8, 2009

10k is an excellent achievement. That’s a book in 10 months.


Leave a Reply

