jump to navigation

Update on Everything October 22, 2009

Posted by pacejmiller in Blogging, On Writing.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

Writing and Blogging

As you may have noticed, blogging has become a scarce occurrence these days, thanks to the life and time-draining thing I do called work.  This week things have gotten busy (and I’m not sure if on a temporary or permanent basis) and I’ve had to endure the (surprisingly good) after-hour meals every day this week.  This effectively means that the time I have to write (on stuff non-work related) has dwindled down to practically zero.  Depressing, I know, but what can you do?

My other blog, Pacers Pulse, has recently been moved to WordPress, so hopefully I’ll be able to recommence blogging on that again soon, especially with the upcoming NBA season about to kick off shortly.

However, there are two pieces of information that I am glad to talk about.  First, I have enrolled into a part-time course in editing and publishing next year.  It’s one night a week for the first semester and two nights a week for the second.  Very excited about that and hopefully it will lead to some opportunities down the track in a field I actually have some interest in.  Secondly, I found out yesterday that a guy at work is the grandson of a famous Australian writer – one of those guys that set out to achieve his dreams of becoming a writer against all odds and got there through sheer hard work and perseverance.  Very cool. 

Oh yeah, and my blog recently broke through the 100,000 hits barrier!  Woo hoo!

Reading

I am still reading Carlos Ruiz Zafon’s The Shadow of the Wind, recommended to me by theninthdragonking.  It’s taking a while to finish because the only time I get to read it is on the train to work (and sometimes from work if I’m not catching a firm-paid cab home), but it’s a ripper of a book.  I’m up to the ‘final revelation’ climax and it kills me when I have to stop reading (makes me wish the train ride was longer!).  I promise a glowing review is coming shortly.

 A friend recently sent me Gandhi’s autobiography, so I guess that’s up next!

Movies

Couples Retreat, Astro Boy and The Final Destination (3D) – I haven’t been watching a lot of good movies lately.  Not sure if the movie I want to see next, Saw VI, can reverse that trend.

In any case, a friend of mine is encouraging me to write to the film publicity companies and ask to be put on their invite lists for previews.  Apparently it works, so I’ll have to give it a try!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

