jump to navigation

Writing Update: Returning to Reality October 5, 2009

Posted by pacejmiller in Blogging, Novel, On Writing.
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
trackback

Heading back to full-time work tomorrow with a sense of fear, dread and anticipation.  What type of hours will I be working?  Will I be able to control my hours even if I wanted to?  How much time will I have to write?

It’s been so long that I can’t even remember what it’s like anymore.  I’ve had enough of a break to know that’s it time to return to the real world and put in some hard work.  The aim is to make some money while I continue to work on my writing and the novel, with the intention of completing the first draft by the end of the year.  I haven’t really done as much as I would have liked during this supposedly ‘free’ period over the last few weeks.  As I said, there’s an astounding amount lot of things to do when there’s nothing to do.

I believe the word count is currently somewhere between 130,000-150,000 words (stupid NewNovelist 2.0 program with no word count!).  Judging by present progress, it’s not looking good.  Even if I do 50,000 words a month (something I’ve never come close to accomplishing) I might still not finish the first draft by 31 December 2009.

Oh well…I’m hoping that with a return to routine, maybe I can write on a more stable basis and with more focus when I do sit down to write.  As for my blogs (this one and Pacers Pulse), I’ll just have to take things as they come.

Fingers crossed.

Comments»

1. dclark1983 - October 5, 2009

At least you aren’t having rolling writing blackouts like myself. My attempt at blogging is basically failing miserably. I enjoying letting the world know my story, but getting people to read it is not my forte. I still continue because it is a release for me. My hat goes off to you on the novel. I am afraid I am limited to short blog entries in the creative writing department :).

pacejmiller - October 6, 2009

I started off the same way as you – a blog to act as a release, a creative outlet…keep up the work and things will come together!

2. Nate - October 6, 2009

Work. What is that? I’ve heard of it but I haven’t seen it…. Sort of like “dust” in the golden compass.

You can always use the old way of counting words: if you are using a standard format, then just mutiply 250 (average words per page) by the number of pages you have= your word count.

I used adobe acrobat reader to write and almost every feature is there…. EXCEPT for page numbering! Which (like word count) is essential to manuscript writing. So I feel your pain mate.

pacejmiller - October 6, 2009

Haha

You can use Adobe to write?? I always thought it was just for PDFs! Just shows how much I know!

3. Nate - October 6, 2009

Yeah, adobe is great, I like it so much, and because it is hosted on the acrobat site, all your files are online instead of a pc, so I can access them and edit/write more wherever I am from any pc. I have all of my stuff on my adobe account now so If anything were to happen to my pc, I know the files are safely there. Oh and when you are done say with a manuscript, then you can turn them into PDF files right there too.

https://acrobat.com/#/bw/BuzzwordBegin


Leave a Reply

