jump to navigation

Dude, where’s my blog hits? September 27, 2009

Posted by pacejmiller in Blogging.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback
My blog stats have fallen asleep

My blog stats have fallen asleep

At about 9 months old, my blog on WordPress.com had been coming along well.  From humble beginnings where 50 hits got me all excited, it’s gotten to a point where it was generating at least 500-600 hits a day.  More recently 700-900.  As high as 1000 even.  Until two days ago, that is.

I was shocked to see that my stats fell dramatically yesterday to around 400.  I’ve had drop offs like that before, but usually only because I had a post that got Stumbled or something and it went up unusually high the previous day.  There had never been a drop of 300+ in a day when the stats were moderately steady.

However, today I was stunned to see things got even worse.  With just a couple of hours before the stat counter rolls over, I’ve only got 173 hits.  That’s the lowest I’ve had since probably April this year, when the blog was still in adolescence.  Is it a genuine drop-off in visits or a problem with the stat meter?

Trawling the WordPress forums, it seems I’m not the only one that’s experiencing this. It’s been said that a lot of things can go wrong in logging a hit, with search engines, servers, programs, systems, etc etc, so hopefully it’s not a permanent downward spiral.  I feared that perhaps this was my real stats and that my old ones were just wrongly inflated, but it appears the WordPress stat meter is one of the more accurate ones out there (not that I have tried anything else).

Anyone else out there having similar problems?

Comments»

1. dclark1983 - September 28, 2009

dude… i get giddy over 25 hits… my blog is pathetic

pacejmiller - September 30, 2009

tell me your blog address! my blog is unfortunately heading towards you in terms of hits…after the initial big drop, it’s slowly gravitating towards zero now. I have no idea what is going on.

I contacted WP support but they weren’t very helpful, suggesting that it was because my referrers had stopped sending me traffic. But her two suggestions only provided 200-300 hits in 30 days or 90 days. I’ve lost 600-700 hits a day. Something is definitely up with WordPress…maybe it’s been blacklisted by all the search engines!

2. matthew - October 1, 2009

wow 700 – 900 hits a day…mate your a writing superstar. considering you only started blogging recently

your gonna have to give me some tips!!

NBA season about to start! ftw!!

pacejmiller - October 2, 2009

Just the tips you gave me dude – content!

Looks like stats are starting to return to normal.

3. dclark1983 - October 1, 2009
pacejmiller - October 2, 2009

Hey thanks for this! I like your writing style. Keep filling it up with more good content and the hits will start coming eventually!


Leave a Reply

