jump to navigation

First Impressions: Dan Brown’s ‘The Lost Symbol’! September 16, 2009

Posted by pacejmiller in Book Reviews.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

lost-symbol-72dpi

The Lost Symbol is out!

I’m not going to lie.  I went out and bought Dan Brown’s latest novel ‘The Lost Symbol‘ on the first day of its release today.

There was surprisingly little buzz surrounding the release.  I had expected Harry Potter-esque queues and people dressed up as Robert Langdon rubbing their hands outside bookstores from midnight – but alas, no such scenes were to be seen.  Just stacks of copies piled behind a sign in every book store and retail outlet with no one around them.

Maybe Dan Brown waited too long since ‘The Da Vinci Code’ to release this one and fickle readers have moved on.  Since that infamous book, the market has been saturated with ‘Dan Brown specials’ – books that weave together fact and fiction into high speed thrillers.  Some of them were probably even better written.  My guess is that it’ll still be a colossal bestseller, but just how colossal depends on word-of-mouth and early reviews.

First Impressions

When the book was initially announced for release, I wrote a post pondering what the book would be like and about.  Well, I’m about 4 chapters in and it’s panning out to be a typical Dan Brown book.  My hard-cover version is a solid 509 pages with smaller-than-expected font, and begins with the usual ‘Fact’ page followed by a ‘what the heck was that?’ Prologue.  So far, so good.  I’m not sure if I am imagining this, but has Dan Brown become a better writer in the last few years?

Anyway, check this space for a review of the book.  I suppose if the book is good, you’ll see the review soon, but if there’s a long wait, you’ll know why.  However, unlike those literary snobs who look down at Dan Brown books because they think his writing is beneath them, I’m going to actually read the book before commenting.

Comments»

1. Nate - September 17, 2009

I completly forgot this was coming out. I’m not a fan so I’m not going to get the book but I just so happened to go to two different bookstores and they were stock to the rafters with copies and there wasn’t much in the way of a mob purchasing them. I did see a guy already about halfway through it in the subway, so there are fans out there, just not as many as expected. Perhaps and because it isn’t a kid’s book (you know how kids have to have things immediately) the adults will get it but on their own time, no rush.

2. Book Review: ‘The Lost Symbol’ by Dan Brown « About Writing – The Personal Blog of An Aspiring Writer - September 23, 2009

[…] I said in my First Impressions post, the timing of my review is a good yardstick for what I thought of the novel.  I bought the book […]


Leave a Reply

