jump to navigation

Getting back to writing September 2, 2009

Posted by pacejmiller in On Writing.
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
trackback

george

As George Costanza would say: I’m back, baby!

It’s been a while, but for the first time in months, I worked on my novel today.  My beautiful, glorious, neglected fantasy novel.  Sure, it was rough and it was tough, and the production was patchy and pathetic, but it’s the most I’ve managed to do since I stopped writing to concentrate on my exams in late May.  Yay!

So why the long break?  Well, I could say I had to study for my exams, then did a whole of of travelling, then had to get my life back in order (and visit my new little niece).  I could also blame it on the books I had been reading, the movies I had been watching, or this blog even.  But I’ll admit – all excuses!  I was just lazy and lacked motivation.

Anyway, now I’m back and I’ll be working on it every day.  Every day until this first draft is complete.  It may take weeks.  It’ll probably take months.  Either way, no more excuses.

By the way, reading back on what you wrote months ago is a cringeworthy experience.  Shudder.

Comments»

1. Nate - September 2, 2009

When I saw that pic I laughed so hard before asking: wtf??

Glad you are back into the grind, nothing like looking at your stuff with a refreshed mind. Say, I have the tendency of naming characters after people I know, friends, co-workers etc. I need a name for one last character in the novel I’m mapping out now and I thought I would name it Pace. What are your thoughts on the matter?

pacejmiller - September 2, 2009

Dude, it would be my absolute pleasure! Looking forward to seeing the future best-seller in print!

2. Nate - September 2, 2009

haha! You and me both.

3. j-a brock - September 4, 2009

always good to take a total break from the novel before going back and redrafting. coming to it fresh lets you see it with perspective, not to mention the fact that writing a novel is really exhausting! congrats on getting back to it.

4. (Best Show)Watch - September 7, 2009

“Hi:

Two things

1) I’d like your permission to (re)print your article on ‘The Clone Wars’ for our website

2) I was hoping we could use your ‘scribing’ talent for our website.

The Best Shows Youre Not Watching (dot) com [all one word]

‘The Clone Wars’ is one of our featured shows. We’re hoping to round up a few people who can occasionally contribute perspective (via an article/blog) on the shows – maybe a recent episode, future direction, plot shortcomings etc.

What’s in it for you?
Primarily a larger audience back channeled to your blog. We don’t pay but the site has a lot of promise and we’re pretty excited about getting it off the ground. Let me know what you think.

Thanks


Leave a Reply

