jump to navigation

Full UK Review, Part VI: Final Thoughts August 7, 2009

Posted by pacejmiller in Novel, On Writing, Study.
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
trackback

cambridge_university

Finally, the final post on my time in the UK.

I came to the UK to obtain a masters in law at Cambridge and I did it.  I also did a whole load of other things along the way.

Cambridge is a terrific university, but in some ways it’s just a façade, in the way that most of the other top universities are too.  Because of its name, it attracts the best students around the world, who fight tooth and nail to secure a spot and are willing to pay whatever exorbitant fees that are imposed.  And because of the premium it charges for its name, and its reputation, it attracts and employs the top lecturers.  But apart from that, it’s not all that different from most other universities.  Sure, the work is challenging, but it’s not like ‘normal’ students would find it impossible to handle.  The teaching is generally excellent, but there’s still the odd stinker.

The same can be said for the students.  There are always a couple of brain freaks, but most people were surprisingly normal and had lives.  No one studied all day or even most of the day, even if they act like they did.  We only had 8 hours a week for 8 weeks a term for 3 terms, with 5 week breaks in between.  It’s not the unattainable, other-worldly academic or intellectual dimension they would like you to think it is.

So for those who think that if they can get into a top university they’ll instantly become ‘smarter’ or learn things other people won’t, it’s not like that at all.  You pay your fees, sit through lectures, study, sit for exams, graduate.  That’s it.  Sure, the overall quality is higher and it can probably get you a better job and give you smarter friends, but it doesn’t make you any different.  Likewise, those who miss out on getting a place – it’s not the end of the world.  Wherever you go, it’s up to you how much you want to learn and how hard you want to work.  That’s life.

So how did I do?  I did reasonably well – not at the very top but in the top 3rd of the class.  Could I have done better?  I’m not sure.  I certainly worked as hard as I could have in the period leading up to the exams, but I kind of ran out of time a little as I spent so many weeks travelling before it (and I also wasted another week catching up on a topic I didn’t study for in the exam).  Oh, and all the other stuff I mentioned in the previous 5 posts didn’t free up more time either!  That said, I gave it my all and I wasn’t competing against stuffed chickens, so perhaps it was the best I could have done.

I suppose ultimately, my heart wasn’t fully into it like it should have been.  I guess that speaks volumes about what I want to do with my life going forward.  Given the current state of the economy, I’ll have no choice but to return to my old job.  However, I’m not going back to it with a glum outlook.  In some sadistic way I’m almost looking forward to it again.  Because this time, I’ll be prepared, and I’ll actually have other things to occupy my mind apart from work.  And if the economy picks up, I won’t mind looking for something in writing.  I don’t know how long it will take to make the transition but at least the option is there.  Writing makes me happy but I still need to pay the bills.

As for the novel, I’m going to keep at it.  I’ll have at least another month or so before returning to full time work, so if I catch fire again finishing the first draft is not outside the realms of possibility.  Then I can take my time rewriting and perfecting it, however long that takes.  In any case, I’m going to finish it.  And when I do, I’ll look back be thankful that it was these 9 months in the UK that gave me the opportunity to start it all.

Comments»

1. kate - September 10, 2009

whoa!..
thats huge!..
how do you do things in there?!
im just curious

2. shay west - October 12, 2009

Is this really where isaac newton went?
Im curious as well i need to know this.

3. alfin - November 14, 2009

whether pergaula of my friends are still together, or they are just pursuing an academic

4. raisa monica putri - December 29, 2009

i want to go there,,,
but i don’t know what i must do…
i’m so sad,
all this time,,,
i always go to there…

5. raisa monica putri - December 29, 2009

maybe,,
only dream for me….

6. mohammed - January 31, 2010

my great dream is to go to cambridge university to live happily in this life .

7. tina asqari - February 2, 2010

Hi.I want some information about physics department in cambridge .I would be so happy if you send me some information.thanks.

8. James abiye dumotien - March 1, 2010

Hi , i will like to say cambridge university is not the only best school to look up to or aspiring to atend but what i want you all to know is that it does’nt souly depend on the school but your intrest and ability to learn where ever you find your self. Thanks

pacejmiller - March 1, 2010

Isn’t that exactly what I said?

9. maxamuud - April 27, 2010

I like this unevirsity may be I will become student in the cambridge university best university in the world oh what have a good feeling

pacejmiller - April 27, 2010

Good luck!

10. swetha.v - April 28, 2010

hai,i would like to do M.S in cambridge university . can you please give required information regarding the percentage , technical skills & other qualifications to join your university.i would be pleased if you reply me

pacejmiller - April 28, 2010

Er…you should probably look at the university website if you are serious about joining.

11. pooja - July 10, 2010

i really like university as you described it please inform me about all the required information related to admission.i seriously wanna describe the university in a single word owesome……….

pacejmiller - July 10, 2010

go to the university website!


Leave a Reply

