jump to navigation

Going to the Bookstore for Some Motivation! June 7, 2009

Posted by pacejmiller in Fantasy, On Writing.
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

writer2

When the smoke from my exams finally cleared, it was time to get back to reading and writing again (after a much needed break to clear my mind, of course).

It had been over a month since I last worked on my fantasy novel, and as excited as I was to recommence work on it, it also felt kind of daunting.  I had to reacquaint myself with the plot, the characters and the fantasy world that I spent so long creating and getting used to.

And even though I had the opportunity to do so this morning, I chickened out.  It was easier just to blog, or to read the news, or play some video games instead.

Anyway, we were meeting some friends in town for lunch, and while waiting, we waltzed into Borders for some light reading to pass the time.  I’m glad we did because I’m totally psyched to get back to work on the novel now!

A bookstore restores a writer’s fire like nothing else.  Just seeing row after row of books lined up like that made me realise how badly I want to finish this novel!  Flicking through some of the books on the stands made me think – ‘if they can do this, then so I can!’  But it was also rather frightening, because picking up a good book could make me think – ‘there’s no way I can ever write anything as good as this!’  Seeing the isles of published novels also made me think – ‘so many people have already been published, surely it can’t be that hard’.  But at the same time I thought – ‘this is nothing compared to the number of aspiring writers out there, it must be impossible to get published!’  And so there I was like a true idiot, switching rapidly between optimism and pessimism.  Fortunately, I left with the former firmly etched into my mind.

Starting tomorrow!

Comments»

1. Nate - June 8, 2009

Hey Pace, I finished the last revision to my latest manuscript, you know, the one that’s going to make the next stephen king haha, so I’m finished with it and can concentrate on this other story, but I’ve been looking around at literary agents and I came across this guy’s blog and not only does he keeps a very positive/sunny attitude about topics while still being serious about his job as a literary agent, but he’s blog is very informative and I think you could benefit lots by checking out his “Essentials” and “FAQs” sections.
http://nathanbransford.blogspot.com/

pacejmiller - June 8, 2009

Wow, you’re already up to the ‘revising manuscript’ part – I’m jealous!

Thanks for the awesome blog. Easy to read and super-informative. I’m hooked.

Now if I can just finish that manuscript….

2. Matt - June 8, 2009

hey gotta look at the glass half full. i think its quite a feat completing a novel – take a lot of dedication, effort and creativity. i get bored after writing something that takes more than a few days or 30 mins!

pacejmiller - June 8, 2009

Blogging can do that to you! It’s a blessing and a curse!

3. Nate - June 8, 2009

Something else I wanted to share with you, I had come across this some years back and earlier today I stumbled upon it and again, I think it could be of use to you: William Shunn’s guide on how to properly format a manuscript
http://www.shunn.net/format/

4. Rabid Fox - June 9, 2009

I know exactly what you mean with meandering through a bookstore to feel rejuvenated. And, there’s always those gorgeous libraries you see photographed, which make you drool for a chance to visit.

pacejmiller - June 11, 2009

I’ve also noticed that watching a very good film can also be motivating, or at least a spark for the imagination.


Leave a Reply

