jump to navigation

Seven Degrees…thing… March 2, 2009

Posted by pacejmiller in Uncategorized.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

Just a quick one.  It’s been a while since I was tagged by Digital Dame for this Seven Degrees of Separation thing.  I’m ashamed to admit I still don’t know enough bloggers to pass the baton to, but nevertheless, here are 7 random facts about me.

1. I have a deep fascination in the supernatural and things we can’t explain, like ghosts, the afterlife, and UFOs.  Despite not having any personal experience with any of them (though I have read extensively and know people who have had experiences), I believe all three exist, especially the first two.  I have been struggling with religion for years (still am) and I consider myself an agnostic theist.  At least for now.

2. I am a huge, massive, enormous movie buff.  I watch around 3-4 movies a week per week during my studies, and averaged at least 1-2 even when I was working crazy hours.  I try not to discriminate between genres – I just like to enjoy good movies and even the occasional guilty pleasure.

3. I don’t drink alcohol.  Don’t mind a tiny sip at formal functions but if I had a choice I wouldn’t drink at all.  The reason: I simply don’t like the taste, and frankly I don’t understand all the fuss.

4. I can speak and read four languages at varying levels of fluency (the threshold being that I can carry on a normal conversation with it).

5. I write, eat and play racquet sports (and bowling) with my right hand but in all other sports I favour my left.  This could be the result of me being born left-handed but taught how to do most things with my right.

6. I’ve learnt various musical instruments throughout my childhood and a small part of my adult life – piano, recorder, violin and guitar.  I can’t play any of them.  In fact, I was so bad at the violin that I was encouraged to quit.

7. I love Japan – in particular the food, the cool technology and the wacky culture.  I’ve been there at least six times (I think) and I’ve even lived there for six months (where I met my wife, who was also on exchange over there at the time).

And there you have it.

Comments»

1. Digital Dame - March 2, 2009

Congrats! you did it ;) But you need to get out and visit more. I troll around looking at other writers’ blogs and have found some great people. I see you have Daniel Florien’s Unreasonable Faith on your blogroll, I’m a regular visitor there. Actually you have a lot of other blogs listed, start chatting folks up and leaving comments. Good way to get more traffic to your own site, as well.

Which languages do you speak? I’m guessing Japanese is one. I spent 18 months in Okinawa when I was in the Navy (yes, I was active duty, not a military wife). Despite that I never learned more than a handful of words and phrases in Japanese.

pacejmiller - March 3, 2009

I think UF is a great site, even if it’s just for a laugh sometimes. You need sites like that to balance out the crazies. I’ll do my best to do more blog surfing!

Yes, Japanese is one of them, but it’s probably my weakest. I also speak Mandarin and Cantonese, the former fluently. I actually haven’t been to Okinawa yet, but have heard plenty of good things about it. It’s at the top of my list for my next Japanese adventure!

2. Matthew Ho - March 7, 2009

hey i share something similar with you for #5. i’m left handed but use my right hand too!


Leave a Reply

