jump to navigation

Latest novel progress… January 25, 2009

Posted by pacejmiller in Fantasy, Novel, On Writing.
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
trackback

sword-fightToday I finished my first action sequence!  Of course, it also meant that I’ve fallen further behind in my already insurmountable readings.

After literally years of procrastination and months upon months of planning, I finally feel like my fantasy novel has gotten off the ground and onto some type of track.  Yes, I’m only about one-tenth through the plot (if that) and unsure as ever about how good the writing is, how my characters are developing, whether I’m using too much dialogue, etc etc – and on top of that it’s just the first draft, so I know the real hard work has yet to start.  But for now, I’m happy.

To give myself a chance of finishing before I have to return to the dreaded life of full-time work (kill me now), I have to keep to my target of at least 10,000 words a week.  I’m glad to say that in the first week since setting this goal, it’s so far, so good.  I’ve had a couple of mammoth days, but I’ve also stuck to the rule of writing at least a little bit a day.

My primary concern right now is the progression of the plot – yes, I am pumping out a lot of words, but it just feels like things aren’t moving as fast as I would like.  I’m worried it will turn into a massive, slow-moving bible. 

Nevertheless, my protagonist has finally had his first sword fight – hopefully the first of many to come!

PS: just thought I would share this article about the benefits of blogging on writing – which a friend (who happened to introduce me to blog writing) was kind enough to share with me today.

Comments»

1. Inspiredworlds - January 26, 2009

do u have a story board or a plan for the novel? it might help guide you. for example work out the broad objectives of each chapter and how many words u will write.

and then you can change the story / plan as you go along.

pacejmiller - January 26, 2009

I’ve been using this novel writing program which I might do a post about. It’s essentially allowed me to make notes on everything – from characters to objects to places and I’ve finished all my planning, including a detailed outline of every chapter (except it’s more like “parts” because each part tends to generally be longer than a chapter and I’m trying to do shorter chapters). So as far as a guide goes, I’ve got a pretty good one – but I don’t have any restrictions on how long each chapter should be – I just try and fill out the story using the detailed plan. But it turns out I’m writing a lot more than I thought. I think it’s something I’ll just have to deal with for now and start cutting things back when it’s all done.


Leave a Reply

