jump to navigation

Novel writing: is too much dialogue bad? January 23, 2009

Posted by pacejmiller in Fantasy, Novel, On Writing.
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

I’m pleased to report that I had a very productive day working on my fantasy novel today (which means I did not do any study whatsoever) – almost 7,000 words!

However, just having a quick browse through all my recent stuff, I noticed a significant part of it is just dialogue.  All dialogue.

So that got me thinking.  Is having a lot of dialogue in a novel good or bad?  Does it kill the action?  Do I need to pull it back a little?

My protagonist has essentially just started his adventure now, but there’s still a lot about this fantasy world that I haven’t yet revealed to the reader.  Rather than using large paragraphs to spell it out, I’ve tried to incorporate as much of the unveiling of this world through discussions between the characters.  Is this a good thing or a bad thing? 

I just don’t know anymore…all I know is that I want to get to the action, and I can see it right in front of me…

Comments»

1. Digital Dame - January 23, 2009

Hmm… just my .02, but 7000 words of all dialogue is a lot of talking. I think a little exposition would be a good thing, set the scene and all. I tend to have fits and spurts of lots of dialogue, followed by lots of exposition, but that’s just in the first draft so lots of time to revise.

If you’re just dying to get to the action, go ahead and write it while you can see and hear it all in your head. You can go back and fill in the blanks later. Anyway, like I said, just my .02.

pacejmiller - January 23, 2009

Thanks so much for your comment. I guess it’s not ALL dialogue, but it’s predominantly driven by dialogue. I’m new at this so I really appreciate any suggestions. I’m going into the action right now!

2. sodomie - November 15, 2010

Thanks for this discriminating article, it’s very much notable blogs


Leave a Reply

