jump to navigation

Writing progress January 22, 2009

Posted by pacejmiller in Novel, On Writing.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

bushI know, my last few posts have been all about basketball, but I have been working on my fantasy novel as well.

The start of the new term has been pretty tough.  I’m still trying to get rid of this annoying cough I’ve had for the last 10 days (the longest I’ve ever had a cough for), and I’ve been desperately trying to make a dent in the astronomical amount of readings I have to get through (there’s so much it’s just absurd).

However, I have started to get into a habit of writing a little bit every day (thank goodness – it was about time).  I start off with 5 minutes in mind, and it usually turns into at least half an hour or more.  So I’m making progress and keeping the creative mind sharp.  I won’t have class the next few days, so I’m going to split my time between reading and writing – I intend to make some serious advancements in the story.  The target I’ve set for myself is 10,000 words a week.  It’s the only way I’ll have a chance of finishing the novel.

PS: I’ve also been preparing a couple of other posts about other stuff that have interested me lately.  Hopefully I can find the time to finish them off.

Comments»

1. Inspiredworlds - January 22, 2009

how long are novels supposed to be? typical word length? & how much you aiming for?

2. pacejmiller - January 22, 2009

Novels can be as long as you want them to be! But first time writers are unlikely to get anything of substantial length published these days, even if it is fantasy. My aim is for something around 500 pages – but it may have to be cut down. I’ve only got around 50 pages so far, so I need to get a move on.


Leave a Reply

