jump to navigation

The best time to write – is there such a thing? January 15, 2009

Posted by pacejmiller in Novel, On Writing.
Tags: , , , , ,
trackback

time

I used to think that I should only write when I felt like it.  But then my novel would take six thousand years to finish.  It seemed to always be the case that I would only get the urge to write when I couldn’t – at work, in a movie, on the street.  Whenever I actually had the time, something else always appeared more enticing.

Today I came across this somewhat useful yet useless article which discusses the best time for writers to write.  As writers, we are encouraged to write everyday.  Sometimes we have to force ourselves.  It would be helpful, however, if we knew under what circumstances we were most efficient.

I’ve been trying to figure out my own “best time to write” of the day.  It could be in the mornings, before my wife wakes up, but I also like to read the news and surf the net for a bit.  It could also be at night, before I go to bed, when my mind is probably at its sharpest, but then I like to watch TV or work on this blog.  I know it’s definitely not after lunch, when all I want to do is take a nap.  Where does that leave me?

Does anyone else have this problem?

Maybe my best time to write simply is…whenever I write.

Comments»

1. Matthew Ho - January 16, 2009

I dont think there is a best time. it’s up to the individual. sometimes i force myself to write, to ensure i get my thoughts down on paper, othertimes i come across something interesting and i decide to write. i could be blogging at 1.30am in the morning (happens regularly).

also, i found it helpful in the past to just have a notepad with me all the time, and plenty of pens! now that you have a blog, i believe you’ll be writing more often.


Leave a Reply

